Die I Will Not

DIE I WILL NOT

Unhappy wife and young mother Penelope Wolfe fears scandal for her family and worse. A Tory newspaper editor has been stabbed while writing a reply to the latest round of letters penned by the firebrand Collatinus. Twenty years before, her father, the radical Eustace Sandford, also wrote as Collatinus before he fled London just ahead of accusations of treason and murder—a mysterious beauty closely connected to Sandford and known only as N.D. had been brutally slain. Now the seditious new Collatinus letters that attack the Prince Regent in the press seek to avenge N.D.’s death and unmask her murderer. What did the editor know that provoked his death?

Her artist husband Jeremy being no reliable ally, Penelope turns anew to lawyer Edward Buckler and Bow Street Runner John Chase. As she battles public notoriety, Buckler and Chase put their careers at risk to stand behind her and find N.D.’s killer. They pursue various lines of inquiry including a missing memoir, Royal scandal, and the dead editor’s secretive, reclusive wife. Navigating the dirty politics of 1813 London, Chase, Buckler, and Penelope expose past secrets and present criminals.


“This is a Regency far from the mannered drawing-rooms and pastoral rides of Austen pastiches–vivid with detail, teeming with raucous life, peopled with wistful and memorable characters. Delving into the sensational aspects of Society and politics, Rizzolo delivers her most compelling mystery yet.”
—Stephanie Barron, author of the Jane Austen Mysteries


“History and 1813 London come alive in this powerful saga, highly recommended for fans of historical mysteries who are looking for a combination of powerful history background and involving plot.”
Midwest Book Review, January, 2015


“Perfect for fans of C.S. Harris, this well-researched mystery takes us to the heart of the Regency underworld…”
—Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of the Pink Carnation Series


“This is the third in Rizzolo’s John Chase series to feature these three intriguing and contrasting investigators. Rizzolo neatly sets up early 19th-century London with her superb descriptions of time and place as she takes us from the stink and filth of the streets to the overheated drawing rooms of the rich and powerful. Fans of regency mysteries are in for a treat.”
—Sharon Magee, Mystery Scene Magazine


“Rizzolo vividly depicts Regency London through her trio of contrasting but equally likable protagonists—Penelope, Buckler, and Chase.”
Publishers Weekly, Sept. 22, 2014


“The complicated mystery is neatly solved, while the personal relationships are intriguing. From the rigid, prim-and-proper rules of society to the seamier sides of the city, Rizzolo vividly brings to life the world of Regency London.”
Historical Novel Society